The Emerging Leader Award was created to annually recognize an Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay participant age 21 – 35 whose leadership has made a positive impact on Hillsborough County. This award is given in honor of our late founder Deanne Dewey Roberts. It pays tribute to an individual who exemplifies outstanding professional values, demonstrates the ability to go above and beyond the expectations of a leader, and serves as an inspiration to the community.

This award was established in 2012 by the Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay program and will be presented at their Annual Meeting event on November 15, 2018 at Bryan Glazer Family JCC.

The chosen honoree will be able to honor the charity of his or her choice with a $1,000 gift, courtesy of ChappellRoberts.

To submit a nomination, please complete the form below.

Award Requirements & Criteria

Complete the nomination form form below and include the following attachments:

  • Current resume of the nominated candidate
  • Two letters of recommendation of the nominated candidate
  • Headshot of the nominated candidate (hi-res .jpg only)

Recognition criteria that should be considered:

  • Character (Reflects moral and ethical integrity)
  • Community Involvement (Involved in community service, whether civic, cultural, economic, charitable, recreational or educational)
  • Initiative/Tenacity (Shows persistence, determination, perseverance, action and implementation)
  • Leadership (Demonstrates the ability to lead in his/her business & community)
  • Professional Accomplishments (Shows achievement through measurable results; demonstrates career achievement)
  • Selflessness (Offers personal sacrifice, generosity, philanthropy and social conscience)
  • Vision (Foresight, direction, creativity and resourcefulness while actively fostering a diverse and inclusive business community)
  • Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay involvement (Please explain candidate’s involvement in Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay and what role this program has played in his/her life)


  • The nominee must be a current Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay Member.
  • The current Emerging Leaders of Tampa Bay Program Chair and Vice Chair and elected officials are ineligible for this award.
  • This award will not be given posthumously.
  • Current elected officials or declared candidates running for public office are not eligible.

Important dates

  • Nomination Deadline – Sep. 24, 2018
  • Finalist Interviews – Oct. 12, 2018
  • 2018 ELTB Annual Meeting – Nov. 15, 2018

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2017 Aakash Patel
  • 2016 Erin Elser
  • 2015 Audra Milligan
  • 2014 Jessica Muroff
  • 2013 April Monteith
  • 2012 Mike Griffin

For questions, please contact Michelle Ciudad Real, Director, Leadership Programs or call 813-276-9448.